Our Directors

Michael Oertel BEc, FCPA, GAICD

Michael Oertel.png

Michael was appointed as an Associate Director in 2017, then as a Director in 2018 and Chair in 2023. 

Michael has over 40 years’ experience in the private health insurance industry, and engaging with boards, management and regulators.

He was the Chief Executive Officer of a registered private health insurer for 22 years and served as a Director on two of Peoplecare’s strategic partner boards, HAMBS and Members Health Fund Alliance.

Michael is a passionate and committed strategic leader with highly developed governance, financial and risk acumen.

Michael’s professional qualifications include a Bachelor of Economics majoring in Accounting, and he is a Fellow of CPA Australia and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Peter Fitzgerald BCom, FCA, GAICD

Peter Fitzgerald.png

Peter was elected as a Director in 2015.

Peter retired in 2015 after 27 years as a Partner of KPMG, including over 20 as managing partner of the Wollongong practice. For more than 10 years he was Chair of the regional (non-metropolitan) practices of KPMG.

He has provided a variety of professional services over this period, including external audit, internal audit, corporate taxation, business and strategic planning, and broad business advisory to an extensive array of clients.

In 2017, Peter was appointed a Director of both IRT Group, an Illawarra-based aged care operator, and IMB Bank.

He completed 12 years as a Council Member of the University of Wollongong in 2017, serving as Chair of its Risk, Audit and Compliance Committee for most of that time.

Peter has a Bachelor of Commerce (majoring in Accounting) from the University of Wollongong. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia, a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and formerly a Registered Tax Agent and Registered Company Auditor.

Stephannie Jonovska BCom, FCPA, GAICD

Stephannie Jonovska.png

Stephannie was appointed as Director in 2016 and is the Chair of the People and Culture Committee.

Stephannie is a commercial management professional with over 30 years’ experience in the steel manufacturing industry. Currently Head of Finance Operations and Transformation for BlueScope Australian Steel Products, her diverse experience spans finance, procurement, business improvement, digital and transformation.

She brings a wealth of leadership experience in successfully disrupting the status quo and building a strong team culture.

Stephannie is an active member of our community, a previous Chair of WEA Illawarra and is currently Chair of the CPA Australia Digital Transformation Centre of Excellence.

Stephannie has a Bachelor of Commerce. She is also a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of CPA Australia.

Sue Baker-Finch BSc (Hons), MBA, MBC, FAICD

Sue Baker-Finch.pngSue Baker-Finch was elected as a Director in November 2021. Previously, she was an Associate Director for three consecutive years from May 2018.

Sue is a seasoned management professional who, in 2016, transitioned from full-time executive roles to a portfolio career as a non-executive director, management consultant and business coach/mentor.

She has over 20 years of senior executive leadership experience in commercial, government and not-for-profit businesses across a range of industry sectors. Sue has substantial background in the health sector, having held leadership roles in a national general practice organisation, a medical research institute and as a Board member in the NSW public hospital system.

Sue’s professional qualifications include a Bachelor of Science (Hons), Master of Business Administration and Master of Business Coaching. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Dr Abhishek (Abhi) Verma BSc(Med) MBBS MS FRACGP GAICD AICGG

Dr Abhi Verma was appointed as an Associate Director in 2022 and became an Appointed Director in 2023.

Abhi is an experienced clinician and non-executive director in the healthcare sector, with substantial experience in clinical governance and medical regulation. In addition to maintaining a number of board roles, Abhi remains active in clinical practice, and was awarded both the Victorian GP of the Year Award as well as the Australian GP of the Year Award in 2022.

Abhi currently serves as a member of the Victorian Medical Board, working with AHPRA (Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency). Abhi was appointed to this role by the Minister for Health, and is the youngest person ever appointed to this board since the commencement of the national registration scheme. Additionally, Abhi is currently a director of Alfred Health and Yea & District Health, as well as member of the RACGP Victoria Faculty Council. He previously served on the Board of Edenhope & District Memorial Hospital, where he was Chair of the Clinical Governance Committee.

Abhi’s professional qualifications include bachelor’s degrees in Medicine and Surgery and a Master degree in Surgery. Abhi is also a Fellow of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners, a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and a Graduate of the Australasian Institute of Clinical Governance.

Darren Hungerford BEComp

Darren Headshot 2021.jpgDarren was appointed as an Associate Director in 2023.

Darren is passionate about driving business outcomes through emerging and digital technology. Throughout his career, he has worked across numerous industries for many Australian and Global organisations delivering on digital and technology outcomes as a consulting partner, a technology leader, and a digital business builder. As a leader, Darren is known for his clear strategic leadership, focus on ongoing development, and drive for execution.

Currently the General Manager of xDNA (A Downer Company), Darren is responsible for the development and growth of Downer’s Digital business, focussing on driving digital transformation outcomes for Downer and its customers within Australia and New Zealand’s most critical industries.

Darren holds a Bachelor of Computer Engineering from Wollongong University and several Graduate Certificates and Diplomas in management and leadership. Darren is a member of the ACS and the IoTAA.

Amy Harper B Comm, B Laws, MBA

Amy was appointed as a Director in November 2023.

Amy has over 20 years’ experience as a commercial lawyer and is a NSW Law Society Accredited Specialist in Business Law. She brings her broad business and corporate experience as both legal adviser to businesses and government authorities and as a business owner, having been a partner of a mid-sized law firm for over 10 years.

Amy currently serves as a Director of Illawarra Credit Union and as Deputy Chair of Illawarra Performing Arts Centre Limited. She sits on the Council of Business NSW and is the Immediate Past President of Business Illawarra. She has also held directorships in organisations in the aged care and tourism industries.